Due to high demand, product availability and order processing may be impacted.
In order to complete your firearm purchase there are a few things that need to happen first. Below are most of the legal requirements for firearm purchases in California. If you have any questions or if you are unsure about something feel free to call or email us. It saves both of us time and hassle if everything is clear before you make your purchase.
You need to be at least 21 years old to purchase any firearm in California unless you are exempted. Exemptions are:
a) 18 or older and have a hunting licence
b) Active peace officer authorized to carry a firearm in the course and scope of their employment.
c) Active federal officer authorized to carry a firearm in the course and scope of their employment.
d) Active duty military
e) Honorably discharged military
Bring a valid form of ID and proof of residence. Valid ID's are CA Drivers Licence/ ID Card or Military ID. Proof of residence includes car registration, municipal water and/ or trash bill. For handgun purchases, 2 proofs of residence are required but one of them can be your ID if the address matches. The address must match on all forms and your full legal name must be displayed. You may only purchase and take possession of firearms for yourself. Straw purchasing is against the law and is not permitted.
You must possess a firearm safety certificate (FSC) in order to complete your purchase. If you do not have one, you can get one by taking the test in our store. You may take the test only once in a 24 hour period and a passing grade is 75%. The fee is $25 to take the test. For more information go to: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/fscinfo
California mandates a 10 day waiting peroid on all firearm purchases. The 10 days begins the moment the DROS is submitted to the State and time stamped (not when you paid for it). It must be 10 complete days to the minute. Not 9 days 23 hours 30 min for example. You have 20 days to pick it up or we have to start the paperwork all over again including the 10 day wait and DROS Fees. You must also be approved to legally own/ possess a firearm and meet California Personal Firearms Eligibility Check requirements.
For more information you can go to: http://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/pfecfaqs
For a list of firearm ownership disqualifiers you can see them here: https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/firearms/forms/prohibcatmisd.pdf?
California also limits citizens to one firearm purchase in 30 days so ensure it has been over 30 days since your last firearm purchase.
California has restrictions on the models of guns permitted for sale. To see which models are legal for purchase go to http://certguns.doj.ca.gov/
Magazine capacity is also limited to 10 rounds so ensure the model you are looking at has a 10 round max capacity. Long guns classified as "Assault Rifles" or "Destructive Devices" are not legal for purchase. For more information regarding these types of firearms go to: https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/regagunfaqs#1
If you purchase a gun from us online, all of the requirements still apply. Once you complete the checkout online, we will receive the gun in store or if you prefer, ship it to a FFL holder you specify and complete the transaction in accordance with all the laws on this page. Or, if you are out of state, you must adhere to your local gun laws. Since we do have guns that are not CA legal on our web store for out of state customers, make sure you are purchasing a gun that is legal where you live. As of 1-1-2018, California law forbids the shipment of ammunition to a customer's California residence/ business. Ammo can be picked up at Duncan's Gunworks or shipped to your nearest gun dealer for pickup.
Because laws can change and are different in other jurisdictions, we are not responsible for any inaccuracies or omissions on this page. This page is intended to serve just as a reference of common requirements and laws. Please make sure for yourself that you are in compliance with all federal, state and local regulations.